Martinborough Wedding Inspiration – Poppies

sarah_mcevoy_poppies_martinborough_wedding_001

Today’s Martinborough wedding inspiration: warm, romantic, elegant and golden.

Brought to you by photographer Sarah McEvoy. Enjoy!

 

Jilly and Tim were married at Poppies Martinborough. Such beautiful part of New Zealand, just over a hour from Wellington, easy to get to, but removed enough to make it a destination for the whole weekend. They fell in love with Poppies as soon as they walked in and never scouted any other venues!

When I think about these two I remember the adorable way they looked at each other all day, and how Tim just couldn’t stop crying. He started as he was greeting their guests, then again when Jilly walked down the aisle towards him, and to be honest he was crying all day. He was very humbled, I think, to be marrying his love in the company of people who cared so much for them both.

Poppies is a bit different in that the bride walks down an aisle of vines towards the guests, rather than from the back. Tim was welling up with happy tears at the sight of Jilly heading towards him, and Jilly’s Dad couldn’t wipe the proud grin off his face as her walked her down the aisle arm in arm. Everyone cheered when she got to them. It was very touching.

Jilly looked so glamorous in her gown, a champagne gold dress that was covered in Swarovski crystals & tiny pearls by Maggie Sottero, from Astra Bridal Wellington, and some blinging statement earings from Zoe & Morgan.

I also remember that late afternoon, warm spring light, It was perfect to set off Jilly’s palette of golds and blushes. She wanted a ‘sophisticated Spring garden party’ type vibe in the vineyard, with a cozy aspect to it. Poppies is such a beautiful building, with large windows showing vines as far as the eye can see, indoor fireplaces, and gorgeous wrought iron design work, with large chandeliers and long wooden tables in the reception room. They decorated the space with lots of warm candlelight; so many candles! 150-odd gold tealight holders, and lots of lanterns plus other mis-matched candles and lots of bunches of wild and wonderful flower arrangements from Flowers Manuela.

I was totally in my element, the light was amazing, and everyone was super happy and having an absolute blast. We took off into the vines at Poppies with a bottle of bubbles for a few relaxed photos in the last of the sun, and then it was back to the party!

Details of good people bringing the day together…

Photos: Sarah McEvoy Photography / www.sarahmcevoy.co.nz
Florist: Flowers Manuela / www.flowersmanuela.co.nz
Printer: Kinetic Digital Ltd / www.kineticdigital.co.nz
Venue: Poppies Martinborough / www.poppiesmartinborough.co.nz
Catering: Nick Arnold Catering / www.cafémedici.co.nz/the-cafe
Cake: Brinkel’s Cake Art / www.weddingcake.co.nz
Cake topper: Flowers Manuela / www.flowersmanuela.co.nz
Entertainment: Hype Entertainment / www.hypeentertainment.co.nz
Celebrant: Ian Kearney (family friend)
Rings: Angela Kelly Jewellery (friend)

 

Bridal gown: “Spencer” gown by Maggie Sottero, from Astra Bridal Wellington / http://www.astrabridal.co.nz
Hair piece: Handmade by Sara Kim / www.handmadebysarakim.com
Robes – Piyama / www.piyama.com.au
Lingerie: Pleasure State / www.bendonlingerie.co.nz
Shoes: Isabella Anselmi, from Merchant 1948 / www.merchant1948.co.nz
Earrings – Zoe & Morgan www.zoeandmorgan.com
Brides hair & makeup: Sarah Lea Yeoward / www.iputaspellonyou.com.au
Bridesmaids hair & make-up: Rebecca Connor Hair & Make-up /  www.rebeccaconnor.co.nz
Bridesmaid dresses & shoes: Alannah Hill / www.alannahhill.com.au

 

Grooms & Groomsmen attire: Crane Brothers / www.crane-brothers.com
Shoes: R.M Williams / www.rmwilliams.com.au
Socks: Norse Projects / www.norsestore.com